History and Mission

ASB History:

The American Society of Biomechanics (ASB) was founded in October 1977 by a group of 53 scientists and clinicians. There are several regional and national associations – the American College of Sports Medicine, the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, and the Orthopaedic Research Society, for example, which regularly or occasionally assign portions of their meetings to biomechanics. These however, are generally attended by those people associated with the parent field. As a result, there is little opportunity for the kind of exchange between people working in different fields of application that would clearly benefit all concerned. The American Society of Biomechanics was formed to meet this need.

ASB Mission:

To encourage and foster the exchange of information and ideas among biomechanists working in different disciplines and fields of application, biological sciences, exercise and sports science, health sciences, ergonomics and human factors, and engineering and applied science, and to facilitate the development of biomechanics as a basic and applied science.

Founding Members of ASB, 1977:
  • Thomas Andriacchi
  • Thomas Armstrong
  • Michael Askew
  • Eugene Bahniuk
  • Barry Bates
  • Richard Brand
  • Albert Burstein
  • David Butler
  • Dennis Carter
  • Don Chaffin
  • Krishnan Chandran
  • Jerome Danoff
  • Dwight Davy
  • Robert Deusinger
  • Roger Enoka
  • F. Gaynor Evans
  • Carl Gans
  • Edward Grood
  • James Hay
  • H.K. Huang
  • Maury Hull
  • Ronald Huston
  • Martha Jack
  • J. Lawrence Katz
  • David L. Kelley
  • William Krause
  • Shrawan Kumar
  • R. Bruce Martin
  • Bruce Mason
  • Doris Miller
  • Manssour Moeinzadeh
  • Van C. Mow
  • Richard Nelson
  • Sally Phillips
  • Gerald Pijanowski
  • Carol Putnam
  • Jean Landa Pytel
  • George Rab
  • Herbert Reynolds
  • Verne Roberts
  • Subrata Saha
  • Albert Schultz
  • Robert Shapiro
  • Gary Soderberg
  • Robert Soutas-Little
  • Christopher Vaughan
  • Stephen Wainwright
  • James Walton
  • Frederick Werner
  • William Whiting
  • Keith Williams
  • Savio Woo
  • Timothy Wright
  • Charles Wunder