Communications Committee Chair

The Communications Committee was established by the Executive Board and was ratified by a vote of the ASB membership in 1997 to focus on the electronic communications within the Society. The Communications Committee is responsible for maintaining the ASB website and its connections to other relevant websites, for publishing the meeting abstracts on the web, and for all other matters related to public relations and communications required to serve the society and its members.

The ASB website was originally created in 1995 by Jill McNitt-Gray when she was Chair of the Education Committee. At that time, the site housed the Biomechanics Graduate Program Database and general ASB information. Gerry Smith restructured the site in 1997, and the first full electronic proceedings of an ASB annual meeting were posted for the 1997 Annual Meeting. The Society obtained its own internet domain name in 1998.

The Communications Committee Chairperson is appointed by the Executive Board and serves for 3 years. Communications Committee members are selected by the Chairperson and are approved by the Executive Board. The Newsletter Editor is a member of the committee.

Communication Chairs:

  • Gerald Smith (1997-2000)
  • Gary Heise (2000-2003)
  • Kathy Simpson (2003-2006)
  • Andy Karduna (2006-2009)
  • Zong-Ming Li (2009-2012)
  • Michelle Sabick (2012-2015)
  • Robert Catena (2015-present)