Education Committee Chair

The Education Committee was formed in 1985 to provide educational opportunities and services for ASB members. The Education Committee originally selected the Young Scientist and Travel Award recipients but administration of these awards was transferred to the Awards Committee in 1992. The Education Committee has organized tutorial sessions at the ASB annual meetings since 1982 as well as a teaching symposium since 2011. The Education Committee has also evaluated the annual meetings yearly since 1989 but the Executive Board shifted this responsibility to the Program Chair-Elect in 2016. In 2000, the Education Committee was asked to manage the regional student meetings sponsored by ASB. Finally, the Education Committee Chair reports on the activities of the Grants-in-Aid committee to the Executive Board.

The Education Committee Chair is appointed by the Executive Board and serves for 3 years. The Education Committee Chair became a voting member of the Executive Board in 1990 when the ASB members approved a change in the ASB Bylaws. Education Committee members are selected by the Chair and are approved by the Executive Board. Each member of the committee represents a different category of membership in ASB. The Student Representative is a standing member of the Education Committee.

Education Committee Chairs:

  • Gerald Pijanowski (1986-89)
  • Mary Rodgers (1989-92)
  • Jill McNitt-Gray (1992-96)
  • Suzanne Smith (1996-99)
  • Julianne Abendroth-Smith (1999-2002)
  • Steve McCaw (2002-2007)
  • Nick Stergiou (2007-2010)
  • Gerald Smith (2010-2013)
  • C√©cile Smeesters (2013-2016)
  • Kimberly Bigelow (2016-present)